NaNo Update

Winner-2014-Facebook-Profile

I did it! Sort of. Technically. What I did was write 50,252 words in November and won NaNoWriMo. Yay! What I did not do was finish my first draft. I am about 40% through my outline at this point. I will continue writing for the rest of January and put it away for at least a couple of weeks in February. That will give me four months to polish it and get it ready to publish.

I actually went over 50k on November 26, which helped me out tremendously. My family and I moved twice between then and Christmas, first to one side of a duplex, then to the other side. Then we had a busy Christmas season schedule that included the entire family singing in two different events.

Things are finally starting to settle down. There are still boxes that need to be gone through, but I am able to carve out time to write again. I am going to read the last chapter that I wrote in my NaNo book and start writing in it again tonight. I am also going to get back on my weekly blogging schedule. My plan is to write about 2,000 words per day, five or six times a week.

One of the perks of winning NaNo is that CreateSpace winners recieve two free copies of their novel. That offer expires on June 30, 2015, so the novel needs to be polished before then. The goal for the end of January is to have another 30,000 words to finish off the first draft of Two Moon Rebellion. That will give me from March through June to edit, edit, and edit some more.

At the same time, I have my NaNo novel from last year to finish. I will probably dust that one off in February. That one also needs about 30,000 words to finish before it is ready for editing. My first priority is Two Moon Rebellion, but this one may be ready in 2015 as well.

Enough talking about what needs to be done. It is time for me to get it done.

About DJ

My name is DJ, and I am starting my third career. My first was a ten year career in theatre, where I worked with some big names and in four states. My second career was working on computers, fixing them and programming them. Now I am starting a career as a writer.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NaNo Update

  1. Charlene says:

    I admire your determination!!!! Good luck!

    Like

Tell me what you think

