First Attempt At Ruby

Well, here goes nothing.  I am about to start my first Ruby project.  I was going to start a couple of months ago, figuring all I needed to learn was some keywords and syntax.  You see, I have built dynamic web sites using ASP, ASP.Net, ColdFusion, and PHP.  In fact, my goal was to create a dynamic site in Ruby, ColdFusion, and PHP to put into my portfolio in order to show that I can build dynamic sites in each language.  Switching between these is simply a matter of inserting code into the HTML and changing the file extension.

So I created an HTML page and gave it the .rb extension.  I uploaded it to a host that supports PHP and Ruby.  All good so far.  Then I tried to open the site up in a browser.  It was not working.  I changed the extension to .php and it worked.  Changed back to .rb and it didn’t work.  What is going on?

After some Google searches, it appeared that I needed to learn something called the MVC architecture.  For those who don’t know, MVC stands for Model View Controller.  It is quite different than embedding PHP or ColdFusion code into HTML pages.

I have completed the site in ColdFusion.  You can see it at weller.cfmldeveloper.com.  In the mean time, I have started reading about Ruby on Rails.  Tonight, I will be starting to create this site in Ruby.  I’m not sure how long it will take or when I’ll have something uploaded for all to see.  But I will keep going until it is finished.

From what I have seen so far, it looks like with just a few lines of code, I can get a table set up with pages to display the rows and other pages to make changes to the table.  I am going to start with the Teams table and go from there.

Here’s to new adventures!

About DJ

My name is DJ, and I am starting my third career. My first was a ten year career in theatre, where I worked with some big names and in four states. My second career was working on computers, fixing them and programming them. Now I am starting a career as a writer.
This entry was posted in Programming, Web Design and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think

